UPTU and Kerala Technological University rename as APJAKTU

Kerala Technological University, Thiruvananthapuram, and Uttar Pradesh Technical University, Lucknow, have been renamed after Dr Kalam.

However, top officials at the All-India Council for Technical Education (AICTE) said the name was unlikely to create confusion as ‘they would now be identified by their location/address’.

The Kerala Technological University, which was renamed APJ Abdul Kalam Technological University, came into existence in May 2014. The university aims at giving leadership to the technology-related policy formulation and engineering planning for the State.

The Uttar Pradesh Technical University - now Dr APJ Abdul Kalam Technical University - was established in May 2000. With affiliation of approximately 800 colleges, it is claimed to be the largest technical university in Asia. The varsity is situated at the IET Lucknow campus.

Sole Difference

The only difference between the two universities is that the one in Kerala does not have the prefix ‘Dr’ in the former president’s name.

No comments:

Post a Comment